Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Fri. Jun. 08, 2012 - 09:29 am EDT

3 schools in region earn Healthy Hoosier awards

Three schools in northeast Indiana are Healthy Hoosier School Award winners. None are in Allen County.

The Indiana Department of Education announced Friday that 113 schools will receive the award.

J.E. Ober Elementary School in DeKalb County and Jefferson Elementary School in Warsaw are Silver Level winners, and Westview Elementary School in LaGrange County is a Bronze Level winner, according to the state’s listing.

Now in its eighth year, the award was developed by the Indiana Action for Healthy Kids Team to honor Indiana schools that have policies and educational programs in place to promote proper nutrition and increased physical activity among students.

To learn more

  • For more information on the Healthy Hoosier School Award, click here.
  • To learn more about Indiana Action for Healthy Kids, click here
  • To see the entire list of winners, click here.

High 27 °F
Low 10 °F
26 °F
Mostly Cloudy and Breezy
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search
Dow 17694.708.97
Nasdaq 4695.2819.56
S&P 500 2049.86+1.14
AEP 57.10-0.14
Comcast 54.27-0.11
GE 26.855-0.065
ITT Exelis 17.985-0.015
LNC 56.525+0.215
Navistar 35.345-0.485
Raytheon 104.36+0.02
SDI 22.59+0.46
Verizon 50.185-0.305
  Stock Sponsor