Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Posted on Wed. Dec. 12, 2012 - 12:01 am EDT

Te’o leads group of Irish to get honors

Notre Dame has 4 on AP All-America teams

Click on image to view.

NEW YORK — Notre Dame placed four players on the Associated Press All-America teams with only linebacker Manti Te’o receiving a first-team nod.

Irish tight end Tyler Eifert and defensive end Stephon Tuitt were named to the second team, and center Braxston Cave was named to the third team.

Notre Dame’s opponent in the BCS championship game, Alabama, had the most first-team All-American selections with four. The No. 1 Irish (12-0) play the No. 2 Crimson Tide (12-1) on Jan. 7 in Miami.

Alabama’s first-team selections were center Barrett Jones, a two-time first-team pick, guard Chance Warmack, linebacker C.J. Mosley and cornerback Dee Milliner. Crimson Tide offensive tackle D.J. Fluker was a second-team selection, and quarterback A.J. McCarron was a third-team selection.

Purdue defensive end Kawann Short, who had a team-high 14 1/2 tackles for loss and 42 tackles, was named to the second team.

Te’o led the Irish with 103 tackles and seven interceptions this season. The senior, who finished second to AP first-team All-American selection quarterback Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M for the Heisman Trophy, set a postseason awards record by collecting seven national awards.

Eifert led Notre Dame with 44 receptions for 624 yards with four touchdowns. Tuitt led the Irish with 12 sacks and had 42 tackles, and Cave started all 12 games on a line that gave up only 16 sacks and helped Notre Dame average 202.5 rushing yards.

Manziel was the first-team quarterback, and Wisconsin running back Montee Ball and Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones also became two-time All-Americans.

Texas A&M, Stanford and Florida joined Notre Dame in placing four players on the three teams. The team was voted on by a panel of 16 AP college football poll voters.

Manziel is the first freshman to make the first team at quarterback. Manziel set an SEC record with 4,600 total yards to rank second in the nation.

Heisman finalist Collin Klein of Kansas State was the second-team quarterback.

Arizona’s Ka’Deem Carey, the nation’s leading rusher at 146 yards per game, was the other first-team running back. The receivers were USC’s Marqise Lee and Baylor’s Terrance Williams, and Stanford’s Zach Ertz was the tight end.

Joining Jones and Warmack on the offensive line were Texas A&M’s Luke Joeckel, Michigan’s Taylor Lewan and North Carolina’s Jonathan Cooper.

West Virginia’s Tavon Austin was selected as the all-purpose player, and Tulane’s Cairo Santos was the All-American kicker.

On defense, ends Jadeveon Clowney of South Carolina and Bjoern Werner of Florida State were joined on the line by tackles Star Lotulelei of Utah and Will Sutton of Arizona.

In the secondary, cornerback Jordan Poyer of Oregon State was joined by safeties Phillip Thomas of Fresno State and Matt Elam of Florida. The punter was Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen.

High 81 °F
Low 65 °F
77 °F
A Few Clouds
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search