Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Sat. Dec. 07, 2013 - 07:49 am EDT

Wayne's Tubbs named to Silver Anniversary team

Later played basketball at Minnesota


Former Wayne High School standout Nate Tubbs was named to the the Indiana Basketball Hall of

Fame's 2014 Silver Anniversary Team, based on outstanding accomplishments as a senior basketball player 25 years ago. The team includes 13 members of the 1989 Indiana All-Star squad. Five other all-state players are included to recognize the top of Indiana's high school class of 1989.

The 1989 Indiana All-Stars include Mr. Basketball Pat Graham of Floyd Central, as well as

Calbert Cheaney, Greg Graham, Rodney Holmes, Chris Lawson, Jamie Matthews, Tony

McGee, Rich Mount, Matt Petty, Matt Painter, Kenny Rowan and Casey Schmidt.

The remaining five, named to various all-state teams are: David Anderson, Tony Barbee,

David Hinton, Scott Matthews and Mickey McPherson.

All Mens Silver Anniversary Team members will be honored at the Indiana Basketball

Hall of Fame's Annual Men's Banquet on March 26.

While a senior at Wayne, Tubbs averaged 22.5 points and 10 rebounds. Tubbs played 113 games at Minnesota, averaging 3.9 points. He took a fifth year of eligibility to play football at Minnesota as a free safety in 1993 before embarking on a professional international basketball career.

High 82 °F
Low 61 °F
66 °F
A Few Clouds
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search
Things To Do

Dow 16563.300.00
Nasdaq 4375.035.25
S&P 500 1931.42+0.75
AEP 51.990.00
Comcast 53.730.00
GE 25.150.00
ITT Exelis 16.840.00
LNC 52.390.00
Navistar 35.170.00
Raytheon 90.770.00
SDI 21.210.00
Verizon 50.420.00
  Stock Sponsor