Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Thu. May. 22, 2014 - 08:53 am EDT

Indiana opens with Big Ten tourney win

Top-seed Hoosiers continue to dominate

Click on image to view.

For more on Indiana baseball, follow Pete DiPrimio via Twitter at


For Indiana baseball, pitching rules - again.

Big Ten Pitcher of the Year Joey DeNato continued his dominance, which meant the top-seeded Hoosiers continued their dominance, this time in the Big Ten tourney

They beat eighth-seeded Iowa 5-2 in the tourney opener Wednesday at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha, Neb. They advanced to Thursday's game against the winner between Michigan and Minnesota.

DeNato allowed one run in eight innings while striking out a season-high nine without walking a batter. He retired nine of the last 11 batters he faced. Reliever Luke Harrison struck out two in the ninth inning to record his third save.

DeNato is 12-1, which ties the program single-season record for victories. He is 2-0 in Omaha.

IU starters have gone 48 straight starts without allowing more than three earned runs. In their last 13 starts over 68.2 innings Hoosier starters have allowed just five earned runs.

The Hoosiers (39-13) have won 12 of their last 13 games and 27 of their last 30.

Second baseman Casey Rodrigue led Indiana by going 3 for 3 with a single, double and triple. He drove in two runs and scored a one.

Every Hoosier in the lineup had at least one hit or one RBI. Shortstop Nick Ramos went 2 for 4 with one RBI.

Iowa (29-22) drops into the loser's bracket.

High  °F
Low  °F
54 °F
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search
Things To Do

Dow 17055.87
Nasdaq 4508.69-19.00
S&P 500 1982.77-11.52
AEP 52.56-0.41
Comcast 54.97-0.89
GE 26.02-0.06
ITT Exelis 17.87-0.06
LNC 54.37-0.45
Navistar 35.38-0.25
Raytheon 100.58-1.81
SDI 23.89-0.07
Verizon 49.91-0.27
  Stock Sponsor