Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Sat. May. 24, 2014 - 03:17 am EDT

A glance back at the last decade of Indy 500s

It was a quite a run for now-retired Dario Franchitti

Click on image to view.

For more coverage of the Indianapolis 500 and the Verizon IndyCar Series, follow Justin Kenny on Twitter at


With the Indianapolis 500 fast approaching this Sunday, here's a quick look back at the last decade of Indy 500 winners:

2004: Buddy Rice. The race began after a two-hour rain delay. The race was ended after 450 miles (180 laps) because of a severe storm in the area and Rice was declared the winner.

2005: Dan Wheldon. Danica Patrick became the first female driver to lead during an Indy 500. Her fourth-place finish surpassed Janet Guthrie who finished ninth in 1977. Wheldon became the first British driver to win since 1966.

2006: Sam Hornish Jr. In one of the most-thrilling races in history, Hornish won by .0635 seconds, passing Marco Andretti on the final lap. It was the first time that a driver made a pass for the lead on the final lap.

2007: Dario Franchitti. The first high-definition race aired on ABC. A crash between Wheldon and Andretti put Franchitti in the lead. After rain began falling, the race was halted and Franchitti was declared the winner.

2008: Scott Dixon. Dixon won from pole position. Also, it was the first Indy 500 after the open-wheel “reunification” took place.

2009: Helio Castroneves. Castrovenes became the first foreign-born driver to win three races. Also, the race marked the 100th anniversary of the Indy Speedway. Patrick finished third, which was the best ever for a female driver.

2010: Dario Franchitti. Franchitti won over Wheldon and Marco Andretti. The race also marked the first time that four female drivers were in the race. Simona de Silvestro of Switzerland won rookie of the year.

2011: Dan Wheldon. J.R. Hidebrand, who led on the final lap, crashed in the final corner of the race, allowing Wheldon to claim his second victory. Also, the race marked the 100th Indy 500 race. Wheldon was tragically killed in a racing accident in October 2011.

2012: Dario Franchitti. In a race that set a record 34 lead changes, Franchitti beat challenger Takuma Sato as Sato lost control. Also, the first time since 1996 that all cars featured turbocharged engines. Franchitti claimed his third Indy 500 win.

2013: Tony Kanaan. After a restart with three laps left, Kanaan beat Ryan Hunter-Reay and Carlos Munoz. Chevrolet also won its first race since 2002, which broke Honda's nine-race winning streak.

High 76 °F
Low 56 °F
73 °F
Mostly Cloudy
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search
Dow 17730.11-27.80
Nasdaq 5009.21-3.91
S&P 500 2076.78-0.64
AEP 54.23+0.94
Comcast 62.34+0.09
GE 26.78+0.12
LNC 59.14-0.59
Navistar 20.69-0.23
Raytheon 95.57-0.77
SDI 20.45-0.41
Verizon 47.20+0.20
  Stock Sponsor