Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Mon. May. 26, 2014 - 11:28 pm EDT

IU repeats as Big Ten tourney champion

Hoosiers beat host Nebraska in front of a record crowd.

Click on image to view.

For more on IU athletics, follow Pete DiPrimio on Twitter at pdiprimio.


OMAHA, Neb. — Top-seeded Indiana beat Nebraska 8-4 on Sunday to claim its second straight Big Ten tournament title. The crowd of 19,965 set an NCAA record for attendance at a conference baseball tournament game.

The tournament was played at TD Ameritrade Park, the home of the College World Series. Nebraska was the host, and its appearance in the championship game accounted for the big crowd.

On Sunday night it was announced that Indiana (42-13) will host one of the 16 NCAA Regionals. The pairings were to be announced today.

Will Holden had three of the Hoosiers' 11 hits and scored three runs. IU's All-American catcher Kyle Schwarber had two hits including his 12th home run of the season. It was Schwarber's second home run of the tournament. Dustin DeMuth and Nick Ramos also collected two hits each for the No. 8 Hoosiers, who have won 15 of their last 16 games.

Five Indiana players made the All-Tournament team headed by Schwarber who was named the tournaments Most Outstanding Player. Joining Schwarber on the honor squad was pitcher Christian Morris, second baseman Casey Rodrigue, designated hitter Scott Donley, and third baseman DeMuth.

The Big Ten tournament's five-day attendance was a conference-record 62,020. The previous NCAA record for single-game attendance at a conference tournament was 17,860 for an Atlantic Coast Conference game between Florida State and North Carolina in 2005.

High 83 °F
Low 58 °F
75 °F
Mostly Cloudy
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search