Text size  Increase text sizeDecrease text size      
Last updated: Wed. Sep. 03, 2014 - 09:26 am EDT

School news


• The University of Saint Francis granted tenure and promoted to assistant professor to Kimberly Bowers and Geoffrey Steele. Lance Richey also earned tenure. Teresa Roberts and Amy Winkeljohn was promoted to associate professor, and Daniel Torlone was promoted to full professor. Faculty members who completed advanced degrees were: Kelly Elder, Marsha King, Jeanette Zelhart-Smith, Devon Lewandowski, LeeAnn Patterson, Jeffrey Rodgers and Matthew White. Douglas Meadoer was honored for a 2014-15 sabbatical.

The university also awarded two faculty members for excellence in teaching: Jane Martin received the 2013-14 Leepoxy Award for Teaching Excellence, and Andrea Geyer was awarded the 2013-14 Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award.

• Ivy Tech Community College Northeast announced Darrel J. Kesler as the college's new dean for the Technology Division. He began his duties Aug. 20. Kesler will oversee more than 15 academic programs. The previous dean, John Walter, is now a full-time faculty member in the Technology division and has been with the college since 1985.

• Morgan Distribution has gifted hundreds of pieces of automotive equipment to the Automotive Technology program at Ivy Tech Community College Northeast through the Ivy Tech Foundation.

• Questa Education Foundation announced these scholar recipients who will receive a forgivable low-interest loan for education: Abigael Black, Hannah Cordes, Kelsey McDonald, Jami Minick, and Nichole Thompson, all attending Ball State University; Tori Bontrager, attending Grace College; Nickolas Balsiger, attending Huntington University; Ellie Gaskill, attending Indiana State University; Michael Mast, attending Indiana Tech; Kathryn Bixby, Kaelly Collins and Samuel Stratton, all attending Indiana University; Marisol Arellano, Brayten Carpenter, Hannah Cook, Julianna Davis, Angela Lahr, Alexandrea Springer and Rachel Walters, all attending Indiana Wesleyan University; Zoe Brehm, Benjamin Hayes, Joachima Hoot, Eryka Kraner, Sabrina Medert, Mitchell Olney and Rachel Witte, all attending IPFW; Nicholas Lash, attending IUPUI; Ashley Felger, Karlee Parker and Madison Yenser, all attending Manchester University; Tyler Caulk and Evan Pagryzinski, both attending Purdue University; Taylor Puitz, attending Taylor University; Spencer Faull, Taylor Luegring, Sierra Miranda and Heather Richardson, all attending Trine University; Angel Windom, attending University of Indianapolis; and Christopher Kindlesparger, Mackenzie Lawson, Jessica Moeller and Kaitelyn Vachon, all attending University of Saint Francis.

• Grace College, Winona Lake, has a new Measure of Grace initiative, Effective with the entering class in fall of 2015, the initiative will lower the cost of tuition by 9 percent. In addition, each continuous year a student returns as an undergraduate, Grace will lower the tuition by another $500. This can add up a $3,000 additional savings. In addition, Grace College is offering all undergraduate students their textbook rentals for free (excluding workbooks and consumables). For average students, this equates to another $4,800 back in their pockets over four years.


• Bishop Luers will hold its homecoming celebration Oct. 3 at 333 E. Paulding Road. Mass takes place at 4:30 p.m. in the gym, with distinguished Knight awards presented afterward. A tailgate party is 5:30-7 p.m. on the front lawn of the friary, and the varsity football game begins at 7 p.m. An adult bonfire follows the game.

• The Black College Club of Fort Wayne will offer a fall tour of Howard University, Washington, D.C. Cost is $150, with a $50 deposit due by Saturday and balance due Oct. 4. Next meeting takes place at 2 p.m. Saturday and Sept. 20 at Shawnee branch library, 5600 Noll St.

Email School News to; fax: 461-8817; mail to The News-Sentinel/Neighbors, 600 W. Main St., Fort Wayne IN 46802.

High 85 °F
Low 65 °F
65 °F
Sponsored by Masters Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Local Search